Difference between revisions of "LMS Settings"

From UmsWiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 1: Line 1:
All the settings may not be shared between our LMS integrations.
+
Please note that the settings described below cannot be found in all LMS integrations. Furthermore, some LMS integrations may not use 'sites' but rooms, cohorts, drives, etc.
  
'''Automation Type'''
+
=== '''Automation Type''' ===
 +
This is not in use.
  
This is not used yet
+
=== '''Remove learner method''' ===
 +
A user is removed from a site when:
 +
*The user is deleted in AD (i.e. if he or she graduated or moved away) or no longer has an active record in UMS. This is normally at the same time as the user is disabled in AD. This means that the user will have access to previous sites from all past terms
 +
*The user stops being active on the site while the activity/course is still active
 +
*The user stops or is removed from an activity or a course in the administrative system while the activity/course is still active. The user will only have access to the site as long as he is active on it in the administrative system
  
'''Remove learner method'''
+
=== '''Delete sites''' ===
 +
A site is deleted when there are no more students connected to it in UMS. There are two ways to delete a site:
 +
* Auto delete. The site will automatically be deleted in the system when there are no more students connected to it.
  
When is a user removed from a site
+
* Manual delete. The site will only be deleted in UMS and not in the system.
* Deleted in AD (Left School)
 
** When the user no longer has an active record in UMS. Normally the same time when the user is disabled in AD
 
** This means that the user will have access to previous sites from all past terms
 
** The user will be removed from the site if he stops being active on it while the activity/course is still active
 
** The user will be removed from the site if he is removed from the activity/course in the administrative system while the activity/course is still active
 
* Finished on activity/course (Stopped on activity/course)
 
** When the user stops on the activity/course in the administrative system.
 
** The user will only have access to the site as long as he is active on it in the administrative system.
 
  
'''Delete sites'''
+
=== '''Send mail to teacher(s)''' ===
 +
Send an e-mail to teachers when they are connected to a site.
  
The site is considered to be deleted when there are no more students connected to it in UMS.
+
=== '''Start publishing days before''' ===
* Auto delete (Auto delete when there are no more learners)
+
This indicates how many days a site should be active before it is published and visible for students. This must be a lower number than 'Create Days before'.
** The site will be delete in the system automatically
 
* Manual delete (Manual delete sites)
 
** The site will only be deleted in UMS and not in the system
 
'''Send mail to teacher(s)'''
 
  
Send a mail to teachers when they are connected to a site
+
=== '''Create Days before''' ===
 +
This indicates how many days a site should be created before it is active. This must be a higher number than 'Start publishing days before'.
  
'''Create Days before'''
+
=== '''Delete Days after end''' ===
 +
A site is closed when all students have been removed. 'Delete Days after end' indicates how many days the site should be in the system before UMS deletes it.
  
How many days before the site is active should it be created
+
=== '''Teachers' rights on sites''' ===
 +
What access should the teachers have when added to the site.
  
'''Start publishing days before'''
+
=== '''Students' rights on sites''' ===
 +
What access should the students have when added to the site.
  
How many days before the site is active should it be published and visible to the students
+
=== '''SQL Groups''' ===
 
+
If a site is created with a setting where SQL Groups are used, members of the security groups inserted here will have teacher rights and access to that site. Please note that the group name written only covers that specific security group. If there are several security groups with similar names, letters before '%' will cover all groups with those letters. I.e. if there are English 1, English 2, and English 3, the group name 'Eng%' will cover all three security groups.
This must be a lower number than '''Create Days before'''
 
 
 
'''Delete Days after end'''
 
 
 
The end of a site is when all students have been removed.
 
 
 
How many days after end will the site still be in the system before UMS deletes it.
 
 
 
'''Teacher rights on sites'''
 
 
 
What access should the teachers have when added to the site
 
 
 
'''Learner rights on sites'''
 
 
 
What access should the students have when added to the site
 
 
 
'''SQL Groups'''
 
 
 
Enter employee groups that will have teacher access to sites created with this setting
 
 
[[File:LMS Settings SQL groups.png|none|thumb]]
 
[[File:LMS Settings SQL groups.png|none|thumb]]
Employees that are member of Math and Science and members og Groups starting with Eng will have teacher rights
 

Revision as of 12:50, 6 June 2018

Please note that the settings described below cannot be found in all LMS integrations. Furthermore, some LMS integrations may not use 'sites' but rooms, cohorts, drives, etc.

Automation Type

This is not in use.

Remove learner method

A user is removed from a site when:

  • The user is deleted in AD (i.e. if he or she graduated or moved away) or no longer has an active record in UMS. This is normally at the same time as the user is disabled in AD. This means that the user will have access to previous sites from all past terms
  • The user stops being active on the site while the activity/course is still active
  • The user stops or is removed from an activity or a course in the administrative system while the activity/course is still active. The user will only have access to the site as long as he is active on it in the administrative system

Delete sites

A site is deleted when there are no more students connected to it in UMS. There are two ways to delete a site:

  • Auto delete. The site will automatically be deleted in the system when there are no more students connected to it.
  • Manual delete. The site will only be deleted in UMS and not in the system.

Send mail to teacher(s)

Send an e-mail to teachers when they are connected to a site.

Start publishing days before

This indicates how many days a site should be active before it is published and visible for students. This must be a lower number than 'Create Days before'.

Create Days before

This indicates how many days a site should be created before it is active. This must be a higher number than 'Start publishing days before'.

Delete Days after end

A site is closed when all students have been removed. 'Delete Days after end' indicates how many days the site should be in the system before UMS deletes it.

Teachers' rights on sites

What access should the teachers have when added to the site.

Students' rights on sites

What access should the students have when added to the site.

SQL Groups

If a site is created with a setting where SQL Groups are used, members of the security groups inserted here will have teacher rights and access to that site. Please note that the group name written only covers that specific security group. If there are several security groups with similar names, letters before '%' will cover all groups with those letters. I.e. if there are English 1, English 2, and English 3, the group name 'Eng%' will cover all three security groups.

LMS Settings SQL groups.png